Virginia has increased the liability insurance coverage required for vehicles in Virginia.
The new law applies to auto insurance policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2022. On January 1, 2025, the requirements will change again under the new law.
Required coverage amounts range from $25,000 to $30,000 for bodily injury or death and $50,000 to $60,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people for policies in force between January 1, 2022 and January 1, 2025. The property insurance requirement is $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others as a result of an accident.
For policies in effect after January 1, 2025, liability insurance coverage amounts increase to $50,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, $100,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people as a result of the same accident. Also in 2025, the property insurance requirement will increase to $25,000,
The new law requires self-insured taxi operators to maintain coverage for uninsured and underinsured drivers with bodily injury limits of $25,000/$50,000 and property coverage of $20,000, compared to to each motor vehicle.
To purchase license plates and title and register a vehicle in Virginia, a customer must certify that the vehicle is covered by minimum insurance requirements or pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee.
In summary, the new law increases minimum insurance coverage requirements over the next three years as follows:
|Liability insurance coverage requirements|
|Injury or death of a person||Injury or death of two or more people||Property damage|
|Policies in effect from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2024||$30,000||$60,000||$20,000|
|Policies in effect as of January 1, 2025||$50,000||$100,000||$25,000|
Owners of vehicles caught driving without insurance or who have not paid the uninsured motor vehicle charge will have their driving privileges and vehicle registration suspended. To reinstate those privileges, they must pay a $600 non-compliance fee, file a financial responsibility certificate with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles for three years, and pay a reinstatement fee.
Interested in Auto?
Receive automatic alerts for this topic.