5 things to know about auto insurance laws in Florida

Florida is unique in that it is only one of twelve states that adheres to no-fault auto insurance laws. This means Florida motorists look to their own insurance policies to cover car accident damage before seeking compensation elsewhere. If an accident exceeds their PIP amount, they can take legal action against a negligent driver, but only after first filing with their own insurance.

There is a lot to learn about auto insurance laws in Florida for motorists, and 5 important pieces of information are:

PDL insurance of $10,000 – Florida motorists, by law, must carry at least $10,000 in property damage liability under their insurance policy. This covers the other party’s property damage in the event that you or someone else driving your vehicle is responsible for the accident.

$10,000 PIP insurance – PIP stands for Personal Injury Protection, and it is what will pay for your injury-related damages after an accident, regardless of the cause of that accident. By law, Florida motorists must carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection. If serious bodily injury exceeds the $10,000 threshold held by the driver and the accident was caused by the negligence of another driver, then he can sue to cover the rest of the damages.

Prosecutions are reserved for the seriously injured – An injured driver can only take legal action if their injuries are considered serious and upsetting. Before suing, the driver must first exhaust their own insurance coverages. Auto accident lawsuits in Florida should involve a qualified and experienced personal injury attorney to prove that your injuries were serious, that you are entitled to compensation in excess of what is covered by your insurance, and that your injuries have lasting consequences. .

Non-emergency injury coverage is lower – While your personal injury protection will cover up to a minimum of $10,000 according to your policy for emergency injuries, all non-emergency injuries have a limit of $2,500. An emergency injury would be an injury that requires immediate medical attention, while a non-emergency injury would be a mild soft tissue injury that the motorist experiences the next day or similar.

See a doctor within 14 days – It’s always best to see a doctor as soon as possible after an accident, as the wait may give your insurer reason to deny your injury claim. If medical attention is not sought within 14 days of the accident, it is very likely that your insurance provider will deny your claim and you will be liable for your own personal injury. The longer an injured motorist waits to be assessed by a medical professional, the more reason an insurance provider will have to deny your claim.

Always seek the assistance of a personal injury lawyer

Whether complicated or simple, major or minor, it is important to always seek the assistance of a personal injury attorney after a Florida car accident. Insurance policies can be complicated, and insurers can think of many reasons to deny perfectly valid claims. Your Florida personal injury attorney can help you navigate the insurance claims process, ensuring that you are able to get the compensation you deserve.

Video FAQs:

Can hiring an attorney affect your insurance – Bradenton Accident Lawyer