Steven Oser, personal injury, workers’ compensation and premises liability attorney, posts vital information about car seat laws in Virginia – to help you keep your kids safe


News and research before you hear about it on CNBC and others. Claim your one week free trial for StreetInsider Premium here.


Suffolk, VA, Oct. 06, 2022 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) — Renowned personal injury attorney Steven Oser, Virginia’s motor vehicle accident, workers’ compensation and premises liability attorney, has over 30 years of experience helping the injured to receive compensation and restore their quality of life. life.

He has now published a helpful page on his website about Virginia car seat laws that is designed to provide you with the vital information needed to keep your children safe and to help you take the best possible precautions to Avoid injury in the unfortunate event of an accident.

Virginia Car Seat Laws

With current figures showing that road accidents are the number one cause of death for children aged 3 to 14 and statistics showing that preventative measures, such as a properly fitted child car seat, can reduce 71 to 82% the injuries of children by vehicles. , it has become essential to provide an accurate resource to parents, so that they can reduce the risk of their child sustaining a fatal injury from a car accident.

Several regulations have been updated by the Virginia Department of Transportation over the years, including:

  • All children under the age of eight must be in a child restraint suitable for their age, weight and height
  • The type of safety restraint must be installed in the correct place in the vehicle
  • All children under 2 years old will need to continue to be in a rear-facing seat unless they have reached the minimum weight limit for a forward-facing safety seat as stated by the manufacturer of the car seat.
  • Children are never allowed to ride in the rear hold of a vehicle
  • The only vehicles exempt from child seat restraints are school buses, farm vehicles and limousines.
  • The initial fee for not having a child in the proper child restraint is $50, but subsequent fines can reach $500

Steven Oser covers all of the information noted above in much more detail on his website, expands further on the particular laws, and further explains the repercussions one can face from not following the car seat laws in GO.

Additionally, it also provides a helpful guide on what type of car seat or booster seat should prevent serious injury in the event of an accident, and which seat complies with the latest laws.

This device is essential to keep your child safe, but must match your child’s height, weight and age to properly comply with the law.

There are several types of car seats, such as:

Rear-facing car seats

These are designed to protect children aged 2 and under and fitted with a special harness designed to move with your child and protect their still fragile spinal cord and neck in the event of a collision.

Forward facing car seats

Also designed with an integrated harness, these seats also feature a tether that limits the movement of the car seat during an accident. With many different options, like convertible, combination and all-in-one car seats, you’re sure to find one that meets your specifications.

Booster seats

With the option of a high-back or backless booster seat, these no longer contain the built-in harness and are designed to elevate your child so that the lap and shoulder seat belt will fit properly on your child’s chest and hips.

More information

To learn more about Steven M Oser PC and to read additional information and guidance on car seat laws in Virginia, please visit his website at oserlegal.com.

Source: https://thenewsfront.com/personal-injury-workers-compensation-and-premises-liability-attorney-steven-oser-releases-vital-information-on-car-seat-laws-in-virginia–to- help-you-ensure-the-safety-of-your-children/

Steven M. Oser, P.C.
312 N Main St
Suffolk
VA 23434
United States

(757) 539 4127

https://www.oserlegal.com/

main logo

Source: Steven M. Oser, PC